Viswanathan Anand regained his empire again

Those magic fingers have done it again: Vishwanathan Anand is the World Chess Champ again, for the fifth time. The final of the World Chess Championship 2012 match between the defending world champion Viswanathan Anand of India and Boris Gelfand of Israel took place on May 30th this year.  After sixteen games, including four rapid games, Anand retained his title beating him by 2.5-1.5 in rapid chess tie-breaks at Moscow. The match, held under the auspices of the World Chess Federation FIDE, took place between 10 and 30 May 2012 in the Engineering Building of the State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow, Russia. The prize fund was US$2.55 million.  Anand is proud as well as inspiration for chess players and lovers of South Asia as well as other parts of the world.

Years for Cricket and Golf: Shakib, Siddik seal the top
On June 12th the Grameenphone-Prothom Alo award ceremony for 2009-11 year held at Dhaka. Sportspersons from different fields were awarded both for their present and past contribution to countries sports arena. This award has been provided since 2005. Cricketer Sakib al Hasan and golfer Siddikur Rahman scooped the top prizes for last three years performance. Siddik became the first man to win the prize other than a cricketer since the inception of the award. Wonder chess boy Fahad Rahman was named emerging player of the year for 2011. Prothom Alo and Grameenphone also awarded the Woman Player of the Year and lifetime award of the year. Lists of some of the awards and its receivers given below.

Year Sports Person of the year Sport Runners-up of the year  2011 Shakib Al Hasan Cricket Siddikur Rahman, Salma Khatun  2010 Siddikur Rahman  Golf Tamim Iqbal ,Sharmin Aktar Ratna  2009 Shakib Al Hasan Cricket Tamim Iqbal ,Akashi Sultana
Year Woman of the year   Name Sport  2011 Khadijatul Kobra  Cricket  2009 Babita Khatun Swimming
Year Lifetime award of the year   Name Sport  2011 Sayed Altaf Hossain  Cricket  2010 Rani Hamid Chess Chess  2009 Kabir Ahmed Football

IPL in Numbers

By now most of you might know that Kolkata Knight Riders clinched the last IPL trophy against the defending champion Chennai Super Kings in their own venue. The Final of the IPL was one of the best cricket matches ever played in the shorter format of the game (T20).  Sunil Narine of West Indies was the player of the tournament and Shakib Al Hasan was the best all -rounder. At the same time, for scoring most runs Orange Cap went to Chris Gayle and Morne Morkel  got the Purple cap for taking maximum number of wickets.  Apart from these, IPL 5 had some huge and amazing numbers that excel these achievements of the finest cricketers even further. Next part is all about those numbers:

Total matches played: 76
Runs scored: 22, 453
Wickets: 857
Dot Balls 6, 241
Super Sixes: 732
Runs from boundaries: 12,036
Longest Six: 112m
Fifties: 96
Centuries: 6
Fastest Ball: 154 KMH

Euro 2012
June and July every year happens to be the summer  and time for festivity in Europe. This year Euro 2012 has added an extra flavor to it. Football is the most favorite and preferred sports in almost all 50 European counties. From restaurants to streets, from buses to train, from offices in the houses, every where there were sense of joy and celebration, even in countries who are not participation the tournament this time. This brings joy and enthusiasm among 700 millions of fans all over the continent. Euro 2012 is the second most popular football tournament of the world after FIFA world cup. 6 out of 10 best teams of current FIFA ranking played in this tournament. Players like Christiano Ronaldo, Ozil, Rooney, Xavi, Iniesta, Van Persi, Pirlo represent and signify not only their country but also true beauty of football with thrilling performance of their own.
The Euro 2012 is the 14th European Championship for national football teams organized by UEFA. The final tournament was hosted by Poland and Ukraine between 8 June and 1 July 2012. It is the first time that either nation has hosted the tournament.
The final tournament features 16 nations, the last European Championship to do so (from Euro 2016 onward, there will be 24 finalists). The winner of the tournament gains automatic entry to the 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup hosted by Brazil.

The tournament is played across eight venues, four in each host country, five of which were newly built for the tournament. Eight cities were selected by UEFA as host venues. In a return to the format used at Euro 1992, Euro 1996 and Euro 2008, each of the four groups is based around two stadiums. The host cities are  Warsaw, Gdañsk, Wroc³aw, Poznañ, Kiev, Lviv , Donetsk and Kharkiv.

Logo and slogan
The competition slogan, Creating History Together, literally, “Together we are creating the future”. This slogan was announced along with the logo. The Logo was designed by Portuguese group Brandia Central.
Merchandise and mascots
Slavek and Slavko the official mascots of the UEFA Euro 2012. They are twins and represent Polish and Ukrainian footballers in national colors. The mascots were announced in December 2010.

In Euro history, no team has won the competition consecutively. This is the biggest of opportunity for Spain to make history. For Germany this is to be the occasion to take revenge of World cup final back in 2011 in South Africa as well as last Euro.  The Netherlands were obvious candidates to take advantage and add a second European title, while now the biggest upset has happened with them. The world 4th ranked team already knocked out from first round, from group of death. Portugal with Ronaldo and England with Rooney are always threat and two of the best candidates of this trophy along with Italy and France. 1st July, the final of this competition will take place at the Olympic stadium in Kiev in Ukraine. By now you will have known the name of the winner while getting this edition of Youth Wave.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply